Braun ranks 3rd among NL outfielders in All-Star voting

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MILWAUKEE — Three Milwaukee Brewers players rank in the top five at their respective positions in the second round of voting results for the Major League Baseball All-Star Game. However, the latest voting results indicate a tight race for third place among National League outfielders.

Ryan Braun, who has been elected a starter in each of the last four All-Star Games, ranks third among N.L. outfielders with 1,553,356 votes.

Braun leads San Francisco outfielder Melky Cabrera by less than 200,000 votes. Cabrera has tallied 1,357,461 votes and trailed Braun by nearly 400,000 votes a week ago.

The top three outfielders in voting results are all elected to start the All Star Game.

This season, eight Milwaukee Brewers players are featured on the ballot for the 83rd Major League Baseball All-Star Game to be held on Tuesday, July 10 at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City.  

At, all fans voting 21 or more times for their favorite Brewers will be entered into a drawing to win Ryan Braun’s Miller Park Suite for a night, complete with tickets, food and a personal visit from the 2011 National League MVP.

There is a maximum of 25 votes per email address. 

Additionally, fans voting online will be eligible to purchase Field Outfield and Club Outfield seats for select Brewers games at a savings of up to 50%.

In-park balloting at Miller Park continues through Tuesday, June 19th.

Last season, Ryan Braun led National League outfielders in voting for the fourth straight season and led all NL players in voting for the first time (5,928,004).  He is the only Brewers player to ever be elected to start in four consecutive All-Star Games (did not play in 2011 due to injury). 

The 2012 American League and National League All-Star Teams will be unveiled on Sunday, July 1 on the 2012 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show on TBS.

Fans can vote for the Major League All-Stars online at through Thursday, June 28 at 10:59 p.m.