Heat ADVISORY for most of SE Wisconsin from noon Saturday – 7pm Sunday

Gov. Walker requests fed. disaster declaration for 23 counties

Wisconsin Federal Disaster Designation

Wisconsin Federal Disaster Designation

MADISON — Gov. Scott Walker Thursday, July 19th requested federal disaster designation for 23 Wisconsin counties due to significant damages suffered from the ongoing drought conditions.  Under the designation, Wisconsin farmers could apply for emergency loans through the Farm Service Agency.

“The recent rainfall in some areas is not nearly enough to make up for the weeks of dry weather combined with heat and humidity.  We need to do everything we can to expedite the process,” Gov. Walker said in a statement.

The counties named in the request are: Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Kenosha, Lafayette, Marquette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Walworth, Washington, and Waukesha. 

With more hot and dry weather in the forecast, Governor Walker says more counties could be added to the request for a Federal Designation.

Related stories:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,317 other followers