LIVE VIDEO: Trump delivers keynote address at Williston Basin Petroleum Conference

17 students receive college scholarships with help of Brewers


MILWAUKEE (WITI) — Seventeen Wisconsin students will receive scholarships to attend college this fall with the help of the Brewers Community Foundation and Brewers players.

Seven students will receive Player Scholarships, six will receive Selig Scholarships, and two students each will receive scholarships from the Michael J. Bonan Scholarship Fund and the Miller Park Community Scholarship Program.

The students and their families attended the Brewers game on Saturday, May 25th, where the students were honored on field in a pre-game ceremony.

As the scholarship recipients attend college, they will be invited to participate in several volunteer and internship opportunities offered through the Brewers Community Foundation.

The 17 students, along with their college choices and scholarship types, are:

Jordan Backes –  Marquette University (Michael J. Bonan Scholarship)

Nolan Bargender – University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

Casby Bias – Marquette University (Player Scholarship)

Anton Gumina – UW-Whitewater  (Player Scholarship)

McKayla Figueroa  – Marquette University (Selig Scholarship)

Alexis Handley – University of Wisconsin (Player Scholarship)

Bruce Lee – UW-Milwaukee (Player Scholarship)

Brandon Li –  University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

Emily Lynn McAllister – University of Wisconsin (Player Scholarship)

Atiya Muhammad  – Marquette University (Player Scholarship)

Carlos Orozco  – University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

Aaliyah Rodgers – University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

Josh Roper – UW-Platteville (Miller Park Community Scholarship)

Emily Thiede – WCTC (Miller Park Community Scholarship)

Devin Veith –  UW-Fox Valley (Player Scholarship)

Cory Washington – University of Wisconsin (Selig Scholarship)

Kevin Worm –  Cardinal Stritch (Michael J. Bonan Scholarship)

A total of 116 students from the Class of 2013 have been selected as scholarship recipients since 2003.

Filed in: News

Topics: ,

Suggest a correction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,258 other followers