Nobel Prize for chemistry awarded to ‘molecular machine’ trio

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The winners of the 2016 Nobel Chemistry Prize (L-R) Jean-Pierre Sauvage, J Fraser Stoddart and Bernard L Feringa are displayed on a screen during a press conference to announce the winners of the 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm on October 5, 2016. / AFP / JONATHAN NACKSTRAND

The 2016 Nobel Prize for Chemistry has been awarded to three molecular scientists who developed the world’s smallest machines.

The prize went to Jean-Pierre Sauvage of the University of Strasbourg in France; Sir James Fraser Stoddart of Northwestern University in the United States, and Bernard L Feringa of the University of Groningen in the Netherlands for the “design and synthesis of molecular machines.”

“The 2016 Nobel Laureates in Chemistry have miniaturized machines and taken chemistry to a new dimension,” The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said in a statement.

It explained that Sauvage took the first step in 1983 by linking two ring-shaped molecules together to form a chain, while Stoddart in 1991 developed a rotaxane, a dumbbell-shaped molecular structure that enabled him to build molecular lift, a molecular muscle and a molecule-based computer chip.

Feringa in 1999 was the first person to develop a molecular motor and in 2011 designed a four-wheel-drive nanocar.