Flash flood watch for most of SE Wisconsin through 7 a.m. Saturday

Cell phone ban for new WI drivers begins Thursday

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Texting and driving summit

FOND DU LAC (AP) — There’s a new law in Wisconsin that prohibits new drivers from using cell phones.

The law goes into effect Thursday, November 1st with fines of $20 to $40 for a first offense and $50 to $100 for a subsequent offense within a year.

The law applies to drivers with an instruction permit or probationary license. It also applies to new state residents with fewer than three years of experience and new residents under the age of 21.

Bryant Halverson, owner of New Direction Driving School in Lomira, says the law creates additional safety measures to help law enforcement stop irresponsible drivers.

As of September, the Governor’s Highway Safety Association notes that 32 states and the District of Columbia ban cell phone use by novice drivers.

CLICK HERE for additional information via Distraction.gov — the official U.S. government website for distracted driving.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.