Dense fog advisory issued for lakeshore counties until 10 a.m. Tuesday

BIG news for the Milwaukee Wave: Two leagues merge to form new “super league”

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MILWAUKEE (WITI) — On May 1st, the Milwaukee Wave announced it had reached an agreement with the Professional Arena Soccer League (PASL). Now, 19 days later comes an even bigger announcement!

The PASL and the MISL (the Major Indoor Soccer League) have combined — to form the Major Arena Soccer League.

It’s being called a new “super league.”

The league currently has 24 teams — with the possibility of adding more teams prior to the June 1st, 2014 deadline established by the league to play in the 2014/2015 season.

The following teams are in the league:

  • Baltimore Blast
  • Brownsville Barracudas
  • Chicago Mustangs
  • Cincinnati Saints
  • Dallas Sidekicks
  • Detroit Waza Flo
  • Harrisburg Heat
  • Hildago La Fiera
  • Las Vegas Legends
  • Mexico Toros
  • Milwaukee Wave
  • Missouri Comets
  • Monterrey Flash
  • Ontario Fury
  • Rochester Lancers
  • Saltillo Rancho Seco
  • San Diego Sockers
  • St. Louis Ambush
  • Syracuse Silver Knights
  • Tacoma Stars
  • Texas Strikers
  • Tulsa Revolution
  • Turlock Express
  • Wichita B52’s

The new league will feature the top professional indoor teams from the United States and Mexico.

“This new league will give Milwaukee Wave fans and all soccer fans the stability and growth they have been craving for years,” said Mike Zimmerman. “We have very talented, highly skilled players from all around the world, creating extreme competition which will provide nothing but high paced, non-stop entertainment.”

“We just returned from the owners meeting in Baltimore and it was exhilarating,” said Sue Black. “Merging these two leagues, it was history in the making while working with leaders from all over the world. These are certainly exciting times for the Milwaukee Wave.”

Team schedules and the Major Arena Soccer League playoff format will be released at the beginning of September.

The Major Arena Soccer League will play 20 regular season games and the teams will divided into multiple divisions based on geography.

Three teams from each division will make the playoffs.

The inaugural game for the league will take place on October 25, 2014 between the Dallas Sidekicks and last year’s MISL champion Missouri Comets.

League playoffs will be concluded in March.

Several exciting elements will be released in mid-June, such as the new league logo, rules, the list of divisions and other key components that will shape the future of the sport of indoor soccer.

Ed Hale, Chairman of the League stated “I am pleased as an owner and Chairman of the newly formed league that we have the framework for a “super” league that will foster expansion, a TV deal and national sponsors.  It has been tough to get this far.  We have had collegial talks with a group of well-meaning partners.

Commissioner Kevin Milliken commented “I am proud of how fast we were able to put this deal together, how much true passion everyone has for our sport, and how everyone has come together to make this great day in our sport happen.”

In the meantime, a new head coach will be announced next week and registration for MKE Wave Summer Soccer Camp continues!

Over 30 camps in 25 locations and instructed by the pros you see on field and in our community.

More information can be found at or by calling 414.224.WAVE (9283)

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.