Snowmobilers take note: Wisconsin law now requires you have $30 trail pass
EAU CLAIRE — A new Wisconsin law requires a $30 trail pass to ride a snowmobile on the state’s snowmobile system. But the law also gives a $20 discount to snowmobile club members.
A separate $30 registration fee for a snowmobile is still required. But instead of lasting for only two years, the registration now is good for three years before it needs to be renewed.
Jerry Vetterkind is president of the Associated Snowmobile Clubs of Eau Claire County. He tells the Leader-Telegram the discount is “a break for everyone who belongs to a club.”
Statewide, more than 600 snowmobile clubs maintain more than 25,000 miles of trails.
Vetterkind says the new trail fee appears to be having an effect because membership is up in clubs locally and across Wisconsin.