MSOE names Dr. John Walz as the university’s next president

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MILWAUKEE — After more than an 18-month search and interviews with 400 applicants, it was announced on Tuesday morning, May 10th that Dr. John Walz will be the next president of Milwaukee School of Engineering, effective July 1st.

Dr. John Walz

Dr. John Walz

According to a news release, Walz is only the fifth president in the university’s 113-year history.

Walz issued the following statement in that release:

“I am extremely honored and pleased to be joining MSOE as its fifth president. I strongly believe in the MSOE mission – preparing students for exceptional careers as leaders and entrepreneurs. The success of the university in fulfilling this mission is remarkable, and there is no doubt that as our society becomes more advanced, MSOE’s importance and global impact will expand. I look forward to working with the Board, the university’s leadership team, faculty, staff, students and alumni to continue moving MSOE forward as a national leader in innovative higher education.”

MSOE indicates that Walz earned a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from Tulane University. After six years as a process support engineer for Shell Oil Company, Walz left to pursue a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from Carnegie Mellon University. He received his Ph.D. in 1992 and returned to Tulane as an assistant professor. In 1997, Walz joined Yale University’s faculty as an associate professor of chemical engineering and in 2002 he became the department’s chairman. In 2005 he became professor and head of the Department of Chemical Engineering at Virginia Tech and in 2012 Walz became dean of the College of Engineering at the University of Kentucky.




MSOE’s past presidents include:

  • Oscar Werwath, founder, 1903-1948
  • Karl Werwath, 1948-1977
  • Robert R. Spitzer, Ph.D., 1977-1991
  • Hermann Viets, Ph.D., 1991-2015