Indy series back at Elkhart Lake: Will Power wins inaugural Kohler Grand Prix

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

PLYMOUTH -- The inaugural Kohler Grand Prix brought the Indy series back to Elkhart Lake on Sunday, June 26th.

Will Power, who had won previously at the Milwaukee Mile was the pole sitter and that would suit him well. He dominated the field throughout the race, leading 46 of the 50 laps and winning -- seemingly easily.

Tony Kanaan finished a distant second, followed by Graham Rahal and then Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Sometimes things happen in the course of a race. Maybe the best car doesn't win. That wasn't the case on Sunday at Road America. Will Power was dominant from start to finish.

"Yeah, really, really good right from the start. We saved fuel to go a little bit longer in the first stint and you had to kind of be smart with tires. It was really easy to degrade them. Just really stoked," Power said.

"We were a lap short, but I think he had three push to pass's, which gives us extra power and we only had one. We have 10 total during the race, so he saved it a little bit obviously, because he was in the lead the entire time. And that gave him the upper hand in the last lap," Kanaan said.

Power and precision. That's what Herb Kohler said about Will Power's effort as he handed off the trophy following things and Herb Kohler, Will Power certainly look like they'll be back next year.