Aaron Rodgers, Jordy Nelson grateful for the fan support during Training Camp: “It’s a beautiful thing”

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

GREEN BAY — Tuesday, July 26th was Day 1 of Green Bay Packers Training Camp.

Training Camp officially got underway Tuesday morning with practice.

“It’s nice to be back. It’s that time of year when you have to grind, so to speak. Grind through this part of the season to get to the fun part — which is the regular season,” Julius Peppers said.

“When you take the field — this is my 12th season with the same team. It’s exciting. It actually gets a little sweeter every year,” Aaron Rodgers said.

“You know, just continue getting better. Playing together as a whole. I think we will come together — as one, as a unit. We are capable of being great,” HaHa Clinton-Dix said.

Green Bay Packers Training Camp

Green Bay Packers Training Camp

Rodgers and Nelson are Packers veterans, and they know that during that first Training Camp practice at Lambeau Field — they wouldn’t be alone!

Aaron Rodgers

Aaron Rodgers

“It was fun to be out there with the fans — to get the ovation when you take the field was great. We’ve got the best fan base in all of sports we think — and it was special to see so many of our great fans as I’m driving over here in the morning at 7 o’clock and they’re taking their seats already. It’s a beautiful thing,” Rodgers said.

Jordy Nelson

Jordy Nelson

“I think I’ve seen more people before. I don’t want to say I was disappointed in our fans,” Nelson said, laughing. “But  I think we’ve had more. I think it’ll continue to grow — and I wouldn’t be surprised if people stayed away knowing that it’s Week 1 and it could be crowded so — but yeah. The atmosphere we have, the way they have it set up with the bleachers and everything — it’s a great time,” Nelson said.

PHOTO GALLERY

Nelson was on the Physically Unable to Perform, or PUP list on the first day of Training Camp, but Nelson himself, Rodgers and Head Coach Mike McCarthy said there’s no great concern as it relates to his ACL — they’re just taking their time getting him back to business.

Nelson says he had a minor issue with his left knee this off-season — calling it a “little hiccup.”

Nelson missed the entire 2015 season after tearing his right ACL 11 months ago.

Nelson said the issue with the left knee is not related to the ACL, and that he felt it while working out. He said the plan remains to be ready for the regular season opener in Jacksonville on September 11th.

Aaron Rodgers at Packers Training Camp

Aaron Rodgers at Packers Training Camp

Tuesday was the first time Aaron Rodgers was in town since mandatory minicamp in June. He answered a couple of interesting questions about fantasy and family.

Rodgers is listed as the second quarterback behind Cam Newton as the “best fantasy QB” this year.

“I don’t feel like I need to stand up here and justify my fantasy reliability. I think I’ve been a decent fantasy player over the years. I’ve had a lot of people from all over the country tell me they appreciate the fantasy points,” Rodgers said.

He also discussed his brother, Jordan Rodgers, who is a contestant on The Bachelorette this season, and the alleged distance between Aaron and his family.

Aaron Rodgers at Packers Training Camp

Aaron Rodgers at Packers Training Camp

“I’ve always found it a little inappropriate to talk publicly about family matters, so I’m just — I’m not going to speak on those things, but I wish him well in the competition,” Rodgers said.

Below is the complete Packers Training Camp schedule, including the pre-season games:

Tuesday, July 26
  • 8:15 a.m.
Wednesday, July 27
  • 8:15 a.m.
Thursday, July 28
  • 8:15 a.m.
Friday, July 29
  • No Practice
Saturday, July 30
  • 8:15 a.m.
Sunday, July 31
Monday, August 1
  • 6:15 p.m.
Tuesday, August 2
  • No Practice
Wednesday, August 3
  • 6:15 p.m.
Thursday, August 4
  • 6:15 p.m.
Friday, August 5
  • No Practice
Saturday, August 6
  • No Public Practice
Sunday, August 7
  • Preseason Game (Canton, Ohio)
    Packers vs Colts
    7 p.m.
Monday, August 8
  • No Practice
Tuesday, August 9
  • 6:15 p.m.
Wednesday, August 10
  • 11:45 a.m.
Thursday, August 11
  • No Public Practice
Friday, August 12
  • Preseason Game
    Packers vs. Browns (Gold Package)
    7 p.m.
Saturday, August 13
  • No Practice
Sunday, August 14
  • 12:15 p.m.
Monday, August 15
  • 11:45 a.m.
Tuesday, August 16
  • No Practice
Wednesday, August 17
  • No Public Practice
Thursday, August 18
  • Preseason Game
    Packers vs. Raiders
    7 p.m.
Friday, August 19
  • No Practice
Saturday, August 20
  • No Public Practice
Sunday, August 21
  • No Practice
Monday, August 22
  • 12:15 p.m.
Tuesday, August 23
  • 11:45 a.m.
Wednesday, August 24
  • No Practice
Thursday, August 25
  • No Public Practice
Friday, August 26
  • Preseason Game
    Packers at 49ers
    9 p.m.
Saturday, August 27
  • No Practice
Sunday, August 28
  • No Practice
Monday, August 29
  • 12:15 p.m.
Tuesday, August 30
  • 11:45 a.m.
Wednesday, August 31
  • No Public Practice
Thursday, September 1
  • Preseason Game
    Packers at Chiefs
    7 p.m.