Heads up Wisconsin drivers: It is now illegal to be on your cell phone in a work zone

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

MILWAUKEE — Heads up drivers, literally! Beginning Saturday, October 1st, a new law is making it illegal to talk on a hand-held mobile device while driving through a construction zone.

The new law went into effect across the entire state of Wisconsin.

When driving past the orange cones, you cannot text, talk, navigate, or anything else while behind the wheel. If you’re caught, the first offense is a $40 fine.

Wisconsin State Troopers say they just want to get the word out on the new rule.

“Distracted driving is probably the biggest issue we have that causes crashes. Speed is a factor but speed in itself really doesn’t cause a crash, it’s the person not paying attention,” said Wisconsin State Trooper Matthew Noah.

While you may not be able to pick up your phone in work zones, hands-free Bluetooth devices are OK.

Giving undivided attention to the road:

  • Consider turning off the phone until you reach your destination.
  • During a long drive, consider leaving a voice mail explaining how long you’ll be unavailable.
  • If you have to make a call, find a secure place to pull over and stop, such as a wayside or a gas station.

5 comments

  • Tom

    If you drive a commercial motor vehicle and you get caught talking on a hand held device the fine is $2600.00 for the first offense. Do you really think they are going to take the time to write you a $40.00 ticket?

  • Joan Bohn

    Just saw this today. Are these fines different for each county and would this in particular be in Waukesha county? No handheld cellphones in construction areas
    1:01 p.m.
    WAUKESHA — Drivers may not use handheld cellphones in highway maintenance or construction areas, utility work areas, where workers are present and at risk from traffic. The new law was effective on Oct. 1 but makes an exception for drivers using a voice-operated or
    hands-free device and allows the use of handheld phones to report emergencies.
    Violation of this law carries a fine of $162.70 and four points.
    Second violation within a year carries a fine of $200.50 and another four points.

Comments are closed.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.