Traffic Alert: I-43/94 SB closed at National Avenue due to police activity
Coverage of the Bucks’ run in the NBA Playoffs 🏀

Wisconsin Supreme Court justices reelect Roggensack as chief justice

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Pat Roggensack

Wisconsin Supreme Court justices have reelected Chief Justice Patience Roggensack for another two-year term leading the court.

The court announced Roggensack’s election in a statement Thursday. She was first voted to the top spot after a 2015 constitutional amendment that made the chief justice subject to election rather than seniority.

Roggensack got the role after the court’s conservative majority voted to strip liberal Judge Shirley Abrahamson of it following the rule change.

Roggensack was first elected to serve on the state Supreme Court in 2003 and reelected in 2013. Conservative judges hold a 5-2 majority on the court.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.