Coverage of the Bucks’ run in the NBA Playoffs πŸ€

Justice Dept questions cities on following immigration law; Milwaukee County makes list

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Foreign nationals were arrested during the week of February 6, 2017, during a targeted enforcement operation conducted by U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) aimed at immigration fugitives, re-entrants and at-large criminal aliens. Full credit: Charles Reed/U.S. Immigration and Customs

WASHINGTON β€” The Justice Department is questioning whether some so-called sanctuary cities are responding honestly when asked whether they follow the law on sharing the immigration status of residents.

Attorney General Jeff Sessions says the department is reviewing responses from 10 jurisdictions that are facing the loss of some federal grant money if they can’t prove they cooperate with federal immigration authorities.

The cities include New York, Chicago, New Orleans and Philadelphia β€” where Sessions canceled a speaking appearance that was set for Thursday.

Also on the list are two states β€” California and Connecticut β€” along with Miami-Dade County in Florida; Cook County in Illinois; Milwaukee County in Wisconsin; and Clark County in Nevada.

CLICK HERE to read a letter from Milwaukee County Corporation Counsel Margaret Dunn in response to the feds, as required by the DOJ in its initial threat to cut off federal Byrne grant funding from several municipalities, including Milwaukee County.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.