LIVE: Funeral for fallen Appleton firefighter Mitchell Lundgaard

Pres. Trump approves federal disaster declaration after storms in August, September

Gov. Scott Walker tours flooded areas of Dane County from the air

MADISON — President Donald Trump has approved a federal disaster declaration related to flooding and storms across Wisconsin in August and September.

The declaration announced Thursday by the White House makes individuals and businesses in the affected counties eligible for federal disaster assistance. The covered counties are Crawford, Dane, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk and Vernon.

Gov. Scott Walker’s office says several other counties that had damage from flooding or tornadoes are still under review. Those are Adams, Columbia, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Jefferson, Marquette, Ozaukee and Washington.

Walker’s office says it will take several months for Wisconsin Emergency Management, the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the U.S. Small Business Administration to implement the declaration. Individuals and businesses in the declared counties will soon be able to register with FEMA for disaster assistance.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.