Hub for reliable, timely news about COVID-19 pandemic

Former governors, others attend Tony Evers’ inauguration in Madison

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

MADISON -- Five former Wisconsin governors, both U.S. senators, members of Congress and others are attending the inauguration ceremony for new Gov. Tony Evers.

The dignitaries are among those who attended the ceremony Monday in the state Capitol rotunda.

Democratic U.S. Sen. Tammy Baldwin was seated next to Republican Sen. Ron Johnson. They were seen talking to one another before the swearing-in ceremony began.

Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Shirley Abrahamson, who is battling cancer, attended in a wheel chair. Chief Justice Pat Roggensack was to deliver the oath of office.

Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett, numbers state lawmakers, U.S. Reps. Mark Pocan and Gwen Moore were among other notables at the event.

The former governors are Scott Walker, Jim Doyle, Scott McCallum, Tommy Thompson and Martin Schreiber.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.