Hub for reliable, timely news about COVID-19 pandemic

NFL Honors: Packers Aaron Rodgers wins ‘Moment of the Year’ award

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

ATLANTA — Green Bay Packers QB Aaron Rodgers was honored with the “Moment of the Year” award at the annual NFL Honors Saturday evening, Feb. 2. Packers legend Brett Favre presented the nominees and Rodgers gladly accepted.

Rodgers won the award for the Packers come-from-behind victory against the Chicago Bears in the 2018 regular-season opener.

The MVP took to Instagram to share photos from the night with a caption that reads in part: “What a fun night at the #nflhonors2019. So thankful to get to see my dear friend, the legend @brettfavre…”

Congratulations, Aaron!

ATLANTA, GEORGIA – FEBRUARY 02: NFL player Aaron Rodgers attends the 8th Annual NFL Honors at The Fox Theatre on February 02, 2019 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Jason Kempin/Getty Images)

Looking back to the Sept. 9 game, you’ll recall Rodgers was carted off the field in the second quarter with a left knee injury. He returned in the second half accompanied by a standing ovation from the crowd — and the adrenaline kicked in.

The hobbling two-time NFL MVP threw three touchdown passes in the second half after returning from injury, and the Green Bay Packers overcame a 20-point deficit for a thrilling 24-23 win over the Bears.

The game marked the first time in franchise history that the Packers won after trailing by 17-plus points entering the fourth quarter, according to the Elias Sports Bureau.

According to, Rodgers has won several awards at the NFL Honors, dating back to 2011:

  • 2011: AP NFL Most Valuable Player
  • 2014: AP NFL Most Valuable Player
  • 2014: FedEx Air Player of the Year
  • 2015: NFL Play of the Year (“Miracle in Motown”: Game-winning Hail Mary pass vs. Detroit Lions)

Rodgers also was named FedEx Air Player of the Year in 2010, prior to the inception of NFL Honors, says.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.